top of page

Lifestyle shift


Why is it we start are healthy eating on a Monday? Also why is it we get to a weekend and it suddenly becomes to hard and we finally give in and start again on a Monday? well I do or did!! - What a vicious circle. 

My name is Laura if you haven't already guessed, I am a lifestyle Blogger, an ex chef and a Professional Photographer crazy I know!!  I just figured mixing them all into one would be quite nice and came up with shooting lifestyle, real life stuff was a good way to go catch me on my Instagram Page Lifestyle.editor  this is a very new account but already has some very yummy healthy food on it that I will share some imagery from on my blog today.  Im also even newer at blogging so please just bare with me 🙈

Reason behind the change of career

They all say a change is as good as a rest right? right!! well I'm rather spontaneous one might say actually one being all my friends, I rarely make plans and just go with the flow on the day depending on my mood!

           As a creative person If I feel I need to make art then I will this is the best time for me as my creative juices flow and I just see things I maybe wouldn't see on other more dull days. Simple! Equally if I'm not in the mood I can't create it just doesn't work.

Im in a lucky position in that My husband has a very good career, he is a Civil Engineer works away from home Monday- Thursday. This meant that the finance situation wasn't to hard on my shoulders and I had time to concentrate on who I actually was an what I truly had a passion to do, I work Monday-Thursday in my local post office with my best friend (her dad owns it) she is also very creative and arty so we had amazing ideas and laughs together (hardly call it work really). 

Im also lucky in the fact that If I head to work of a morning and the light is looking amazing for some photography along my way I can do this and just make the time up at the far end of my shift. Also if a job comes along I can also very easily get the day off. I couldn't ask for more. Very Lucky. I work 9am-12noon each day give or take which leaves the afternoon to get on with catching up on Instagram comments and likes etc - editing and creating.

Back to being spontaneous   

 Well the same thing happened when I was cheffing I loved my job and the people I worked with were great we gelled so well as a team and created some amazing food, I found subconsciously I was spending so much time styling the dish to make it look pretty, to photograph it than I actually was making sure it went out on time.

I am a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to styling a plate or set and I always thought it was such a shame having this beautiful food that I had prepped all day and then created on the plate to look amazing but not being able to share it with the world or even myself after the shift. My end product and where I felt proud was in the image not the persons comment eating it- not a good sign really.

 I started taking more and more photos of my food and probably getting more and more wrong for not focussing on what I was actually supposed to be doing oopsie!! Long story very short I was asked off the boss if I would like to be put through my cooking course all expenses paid which was an amazing opportunity and I was so excited. I said yes straight away as any young girl would in Northumberland this could be an amazing career jump for me. 

The day finally came to go and sign up my dad took me to go and get all the info, have the interview and sign up, he waited in the car he has this very annoying habit of starting a sentence with "what you should do is......" ggggr it honestly drives me insane more so now actually than then anyways when I came out he asked me how it went I replied "really good - I start in a months time I might need a better camera, oh and I didn't sign up for cooking, I signed up for an HND in Photography" 🙈📷 .

Reply - "OMG Laura what are you doing !! you have to be a really good photographer to make it in this day and age, you are a good chef and have a great job" (thanks dad!)

Obviously this got me thinking, am I being ridiculous and making a really stupid mistake- but I"m now 6 years down the line have a BA in Photography, Video and Digital Imaging by getting put straight into year 2 of uni on the grounds of having a strong portfolio and I have never looked back. I get to take photos of the subjects I enjoy and still get to make the yummy food I once did when cheffing. I think one of the reasons I succeed in life is because I like to prove people very wrong and I will work harder just to prove that point. 

Getting back to my healthy eating etc sorry I'm drifting...

I don't no about you but when I have been away for a weekend filled with food and drink I feel absolutely awful I eat to much of the wrong thing laze about and always tell myself its a free card to be as much of a pig as I can without feeling guilty. I always then come home begging myself to start my healthy eating straight away. I can't think of anything more satisfying than chilling out with recipe books planning my weekly menu for the 7 days ahead getting a shop in and prepping for the next few days so that I can be ahead of the game!! ahhh its bliss!

My favourite book that i'm looking through at the moment would have to be Jamie Oliver's Everyday Super Food he's amazing in my eyes, I love the way he talks about food with excitement and enthusiasm. He just loves what he does - also one of my goto restaurants is Jamie Olivers in Newcastle the buzz and styling of the place just makes me feel alive and he inspires me to eat foods I don't even like because of how he describes what he does. 

Must try recipe

I go skiing on the 10th of March so need to and want to stick to eating and drinking healthily I started a week ago from today (because its a Monday) lol Weighed myself this morning and I am so chuffed .........

Not only that though in only a week I feel like my skin is looking better. I feel healthier in my tummy and my mind. You are what you eat really does make you think. I seriously think we really are!! Also the other fave is eat the rainbow 🌈  the brighter more colourful the food the better it is for us also we are drawn to the colours. 

The things that I have changed in my life are 

* Not being as hard on myself - life is for living after all if I have a date that comes up instead of not going I will go I will enjoy myself and I will remember that nothin is off limits or a syn - everything in moderation. 

* You don't start on a Monday as i'm not starting anything, I'm living my life to the full experimenting with new foods and recipes and seriously enjoying it. I had lentil curry the other day first time in my life!! it was

A m a z i n g!!  

catch you later ❤️

🙏

other imagery also on this page include anything lifestyle and Northumberland really.... 

Below image is someone that has introduced me to Yoga - love it thanks David have a look at his here

 instagram ManoVenus

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page